Inside every acorn is an oak tree

Inside every acorn is an entire forest. Every oak tree produces immeasurable acorns so the potential of a simple acorn is limitless.

Think about that for a moment.
Over the last 6 months God has been speaking to me through this analogy and I have a few things I feel God wants me to share with you through this, my first blog.

They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the Lord for the display of His splendour.” Isaiah 61:3

img_3876When I got married I was happy and very content to be the best wife and mother I could be. That was my dream and vision…it still is…. but I was content with that. I had no other big ambitions or desires.

Then God put a HUGE vision on my heart. Something impossible, something that said, why me? I can’t? I’m not qualified?….

There is a beautiful story written by Max Lucado called “the oak inside the acorn.”

The story journeys through the life of an acorn who firstly doesn’t want to leave Mother Oak but his mother keeps telling him “within you is a great oak tree, Little Acorn. Just be the tree God made you to be.”

Little Acorn couldn’t work out how he was going to be a big Oak but slowly and surely this little acorn got buried, became a sapling then grew into a Big Oak which became a significant tree in the life of a young girl growing up outside her house. This girl, now grown up starts to worry about her life just like Little Acorn. Little Acorn who is now Big Oak begins to echo to the girl what Mother Oak said to him. “Within you is a great girl. Just be the person God made you to be.”

As I read this story to my son for the first time one bedtime I found myself welling up as God reiterated what He was saying to me.

When God puts a God sized vision or dream in your heart that seems impossible, like the acorn you may wonder how am I going to do this? Know that in you are all the ingredients to fulfill what God made you to be.

I realise looking back, the ingredients for my vision have been seeds within me all along and looking forward He is connecting me with others who have the ingredients I don’t have. Put these ingredients together and fuse them with Almighty God and we will see mountains move!

Jesus said, “Faith as small as a mustard seed (or an acorn) will move mountains.” Wow!

vx

 

Leave a Reply

