Worry is a virus of the mind

I’m aware as life goes on my furrowed brow is not going away. It’s not for lack of trying various creams, potions and massage techniques!

You may say, “it comes to us all with age, Love.” Yeah….thanks for that.

But these aren’t laughter lines, this is evidence of worry and stress in my life.

Recently I was challenged by the following scripture in Hebrews 4 in my daily devotional by Kenneth Hagin.

“For as long, then, as that promise of resting in him pulls us on to God’s goal for us, we need to be careful that we’re not disqualified. We received the same promises as those people in the wilderness, but the promises didn’t do them a bit of good because they didn’t receive the promises with faith. If we believe, though, we’ll experience that state of resting. But not if we don’t have faith.”  ‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭4:1-3‬ ‭MSG‬‬

Hagin goes on to say, “since learning about faith and that the Bible said, “…we who have believed do enter that rest…” I have been in a state of rest….I haven’t seen a “battle” in more than 65 years.” 

WHAT?!

Since becoming a mother my rate of worry and stress has certainly increased, then add health concerns of loved ones to this and no wonder my furrowed brow will not go away. I realised I’ve been living in a state of worry and not rest.

As I meditated on this scripture I realised I’m not entering into the fullness of what God wants me to live. What an incredible gift to have no worries or anxieties.

We all know the scriptures that tell us “do not worry” (Matt 6:25)…”cast your cares on the Lord (Psalm 55:22)…. but are we actually doing this? Are we saying it but not believing it?

Let’s be real. Whenever we worry we are in unbelief, we are in sin, we are saying “I don’t trust you God.”

I don’t know about you but I don’t want to miss out on this incredible promise. I want to live in the fullness of what God has for me. I don’t want to live in my fleshy nature and to worry like everyone else.

The world says “it’s natural to worry, it’s part of being a mum.” Yes, but it’s exhausting and giving me a furrowed brow!!

Worrying is futile and a virus to the mind.

Jesus said…

“Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” ‭‭Matthew‬ ‭6:27‬ ‭NIV‬

Let’s grasp hold of this promise in Hebrews 4 and mix it with faith as commanded.

Let’s renew our minds in the Word of God and undo those neural pathways in our brain that tells us to worry.

I want to be able to say, like Kenneth Hagin, “I haven’t seen a “battle” in more than 65 years.”

I want to live in a state of rest.

 

vx

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

