Make Rest Part Of Your Work

I like to get things done.

I have a mind mentality of planning, writing lists and ticking things off. It’s how I operate. But God stopped me in my tracks recently and said. “Make rest part of your work.”

I work from home. I have the hours of the school day whilst my son is at school to get everything I need to done. Every minute is precious, I dare not waste a second…..yet God asks me to make rest part of my work?!

Unfortunately this would sit at the bottom of my “to do” list.

In a UK survey 43% believe they have too much work to take a rest, with many eating lunch at their desk whilst responding to emails.

Having recently meditated on the scripture in Hebrews 4 mentioned in my blog about worry, I am starting to realise how much God takes rest seriously.

“God’s promise of entering his rest still stands, so we ought to tremble with fear that some of you might fail to experience it. Hebrews‬ ‭4:1 NLT

From the moment of creation God introduced and demonstrated rest and followed it up with the 10 commandments.

“You have six days each week for your ordinary work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath day of rest dedicated to the LORD your God….For in six days the LORD made the heavens, the earth, the sea, and everything in them; but on the seventh day he rested. That is why the LORD blessed the Sabbath day and set it apart as holy.” ‭‭Exodus‬ ‭20:9-11‬ ‭NLT‬‬

When you love your work, you probably don’t see the need to rest. Alternatively you may feel overwhelmed with the amount of work you have to do (especially if you work full time, you have a house and family to look after). Either way, we are in danger of making work idolatrous.

I’m often reminded of the story of Mary and Martha.

“Mary, who sat before the Master, hanging on every word he said. But Martha was pulled away by all she had to do in the kitchen. Later, she stepped in, interrupting them. “Master, don’t you care that my sister has abandoned the kitchen to me? Tell her to lend me a hand.” The Master said, “Martha, dear Martha, you’re fussing far too much and getting yourself worked up over nothing. One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it.”  Luke‬ ‭10:38-42‬ ‭MSG‬‬

We have to CHOOSE rest.

There is always going to be “something” to do, whether it be emails to write, clothes to iron or people to see.

Let’s make sure REST is near the top of our to do list and make rest part of our work.

 

vx

Leave a comment